Thread: new model black hawk mods

Default new model black hawk mods

so i have that 41 mag black hawk i was wondering if there our any common mods or upgrades for it that people have done and liked i was given the gun and have some extra cash to put into it so is there any issues that it has had that people have had takein care of

Get a good leather holster for it. Look at Simply Rugged or Diamond D for good leather, money well spent!
    http://www.simplyrugged.com/

http://www.davidjohnstonleather.com/

They are about as solid from Ruger as a gun gets, but you can trick anything. How you trick it would be completely a matter of your taste and what kind of shooting you want to do with it.

Andy

I polished the moving parts and installed a Wolf spring kit, a Super Blackhawk hammer and a Belt Mountain base pin...had the cylinder throats checked and reamed...all on my .45 colt BH

SOme people like to to some trigger work on them.

i was wondering what was the bennifit im still new to pistol mods so any information woould be nice

I put different grips on mine, the 'gunfighter' style, they are a bit thinner that OEM grips. Also the Belt Mountain base pin, and I modified the pawl so the cylinder will spin both directions.

The things I like to do to Ruger Blackhawk are put in a Wolfe spring kit, trigger, hammer and cylinder latch springs. I put in a reversing pawl and Belt mountain base pin, or cylinder pin. I then will stone the trigger to get a good pull. I alsolike the super blackhawk hammer wider and lower setting hammer. This is about $30 the other parts will be about $60 for the springs, pawl and basepin.

I don't see reamers to cut the throats of the 41 but Ihave two and they are .4105"ish and I use .410 hard cast in them and that works fine.