Thread: Yam. Nytro XTX vs. S.D. Tundra LT

Default Yam. Nytro XTX vs. S.D. Tundra LT

I'm getting a new machine. I just can't decide what ride to get. I'm literally planning on flipping a coin to decide if I don't get some strong advice.

My budget is $8000, I mostly ride trails, but love to bust through powder as long as the terrain isn't really steep (I'm a newbie). I want a comfortable, reliable machine that can haul a cargo sled for the rare overnight trip to a cabin, or possibly for caribou or bear hunting.

09 Ski Doo Tundra LT 550F. "Sport Utility"

Pros: 1. 154x16x1.25 track is good for "backcountry", deep powder, exploring off trail. 2. 40lbs lighter (500 lbs) than the other choice. 3. 2-up seat so my wife can ride. 4. 60HP 2-stroke has "enough" power, has backup pull-start, and is better at starting in REALLY cold conditions. 5. Comes with a cargo rack and hitch so it's better for hauling gear. 6. $800 cheaper. 7. Electric start and reverse.

Cons: 1. Overall quality is inferior (IMO). 2. Technologically inferior. 3. 2 stroke engine sucks gas bad (14 MPG). 4. Wont last as long in general and 2-stroke engine may start to have problems after about 3000 miles. 5. Suspension isn't nearly as nice. 6. MSRP = 7200, price = 7200 (no deals). 7. Loud, smelly 2-stroke engine.

09 Yamaha Nytro XTX. "Crossover"

Pros: 1. New "Hybrid" 144x15x1.25 track is great on trails and very good in most powder situations I am likely to encounter - at least for the next few years as I gain experience. 2. 130HP fuel injected 4 stroke engine runs smooth as butter and has way more power than needed; engine will run strong for many years and can tow a cargo sled with ease. 3. Has one of the best suspensions available for rough trails. 4. Only 20lbs heavier than my current sled. 5. Shorter track and overall design provides better handling on trails and in moderate powder. 6. Currenly "on sale" for $2800 off MSRP. 7. Electric start and reverse. 8. Gets ~20 MPG and no blue smoke.