Thread: Pistol rental

Default Pistol rental

We are planning on trip up to Alaska in May for 2 weeks and I don't care for the hassle and pucker factor checking a pistol through the airline.
    Being a Georgia resident I don't think I can purchase a pistol per ATF laws but I believe by ATF laws it is legal for out of staters too rent or borrow.
    My 3 ???
    1 Does anyone know if a rental is possible?
    2 Would anyone like to loan me .44 for 2 weeks
    3 Would I just be better off buying a rifle and send it to my FFL in Ga. when I leave?

Default Rentals???

Quote Originally Posted by Georgia Boy View Post
    We are planning on trip up to Alaska in May for 2 weeks and I don't care for the hassle and pucker factor checking a pistol through the airline.
    Being a Georgia resident I don't think I can purchase a pistol per ATF laws but I believe by ATF laws it is legal for out of staters too rent or borrow.
    My 3 ???
    1 Does anyone know if a rental is possible?
    2 Would anyone like to loan me .44 for 2 weeks
    3 Would I just be better off buying a rifle and send it to my FFL in Ga. when I leave?
    GA, I don't think you can rent a handgun, not sure if anyone would loan you one, partly because of liability on both accounts. I have taken long guns and a revolver to Alaska three times with no problem, just follow airline rules. If you want buy a rifle or shotgun in Alaska and send it to yourself in GA when you are done if that is the way you prefer. I assume you are camping or fishing?? Good luck, Mark

I check my pistol into my check baggage all the time without any hassle, however if it is a choice betweent he .44 or a heavier rifle, I would go with the rifle..........thought that is a whole seperate topic.