Thread: pack frame for moose packing

Default pack frame for moose packing

Hi all, I got a couple jobs this year packing for two different outfitters, one for spring brown bear on kodiak and the other for sheep and moose outside denali np. I've been advised that I should get a Barney's pack frame since its one of the few that can effectively handle a moose quarter. I called Barney's and they are asking $529 for the settup and I haven't found any for sale used. I'm just wondering if there are any alternatives to Barney's pack frame out there. Thanks

Abe

Default go Barney's

Abe,
    There's been a lot of discussion on this in the past here, but assuming it was the guide you'll be working for who suggested the Barney's pack, you should bite the bullet and get the best that's made. One of their frames and the pinnacle bag is what you need.
    I've been using the Barney's system for 20 years now for packing meat and a lot of other stuff and have never found anything better.
    FWIW, you can do a layaway thing at Barney's. They'll work with you.
    Ken
    Art is making something out of nothing and selling it.
    - Frank Zappa

For the day in day out packer, you won't beat the Barney's setup.

Also keep in mind any gear you buy that is needed for you to do your job IS a tax write-off at the end of the year.
    We do not go to the green woods and crystal waters to rough it, we go to smooth it. We get it rough enough at home; in towns and cities; in shops, offices, stores, banks anywhere that we may be placed

One option to consider.......buy the frame and belt/strap system....NO bag. And put your tools in a daypack and bungee it to the frame. Also have the guide buy it for you as he gets a discount.....Welcome to HE11. I started as a packer in the early 70's. I have no idea how old you are, but many young men quest for a right of passage into manhood. One season of packing in Alaska and one is clear of his status as a man...Take a camera.....Good luck.