Thread: Residency Question

Default Residency Question

I'm in the military and I've been a resident of AK since 1994. My leave statement reflects this. I am coming back to AK and want to know if this is sufficient to pick-up where I left off or do I have to undergo the entire waiting game again. I wound up having to get a drivers license from Arkansas when my AK license expired; I couldn't make the trip back.

Does anyone have knowledge in this area? I want to get back into hunting and avoid eating the steroid laced meat at the store.

Default resident license

The regs say that you have to be stationed in Alaska for the consecutive 12 months prior to the application of the tag/license. You can find the whole reference on page 9 of this years regs.

Jake
    All the romance of trout fishing exists in the mind of the angler and is in no way shared by the fish.

Thanks Jake, I'll be there in 6 months and this time I'm not leaving.

I just called Fairbanks F&G and ask them your question as you stated it to included that you had to get an Arkansas DL. They said as long as you have met the yearly PFD requirements and not claimed another state you are not required to wait another year, HOWEVER, do your own research and make sure you are good to go.

Fairbanks F&G number is 907-459-7206

Good luck and welcome back

Steve
    Last edited by stid2677; 03-03-2009 at 20:27.
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

I know some states will let you hunt as a resident if you are on active duty stationed there, even if your home of record is Alaska. You just need to show them a copy of your orders when you purchase the license and they'll sell you the much cheaper resident license.

However,