Thread: RCBS ChargeMaster vs Lyman 1200 DPS scales?

Default RCBS ChargeMaster vs Lyman 1200 DPS scales?

I am on my third RCBS ChargeMaster Combo Scale and Powder Dispenser. First one reported greater than the advertised 20 gram checkweight of 308.6 grains and was replaced. Second one worked for a year or two, then started displaying random entries on scale when entering a charge and was replaced. Now the third one reports > 308.6 grains for the 20 gram checkweight and the "idling" negative value when the pan is off the platen drifts around a lot. It reports a approximate 0.4 grain greater weight than my RCBS Partner that is slow but repeatable. Tired of the costs of shipping it back and forth.

Had anyone used the Lyman 1200 DPS 3 version of this scale-dispenser concept, and is it reliable and repeatable?

Thanks

I can't comment on either of the dispensers or scales that you have as I have not used them. However, I have an RCBS Range Master 750 that has done exactly what you describe. I too am on my third one of which RCBS had to replace each time. So far this one appears to be working well. I've had it over a year now without a hitch. I still back it up with my balance beam scale so sometimes I wonder why I have the thing at all. I have read on other web sites where this seems to be the norm instead of the exception. Hope you get something that works for you.

Dan

I'd like to keep an eye on this thread. I have a el cheapo Cabelas digital scale that has a very short shut off time and I back that up with my 505 beam. I was thinking about going to one of those RCBS dispensing scales...so I'll hold for now.

Thumbs up

I sure do like my Lyman DPS3, have had it over a year no problems.
    Got it at Sportsmans for 239.00, I see they jacked the price up a bunch since I purchased mine.

I would definately by it again.