Thread: How to tell if the barrel crown is bad?

Default How to tell if the barrel crown is bad?

i own a browning BAR in .338 win mag. i have noticed over the last few years that my group sizes have opened up a little. i have been using the same loads and bullets (factory) for the last 15 years or so. the groups are not bad by any means, and the animals keep falling over with no problems. i do keep the rifle as clean as i can, but i have never used a bore guide and am wondering if i could have messed up the crown from cleaning. i didn't realize i could damage it with an aluminum rod. i need to have the rifle gone through cleaned and checked out by a gunsmith and if anyone knows a good one that is knowlagable with the BAR and would be able to check the crown, i would be gratefull. it has worked flawlessly for over 20 years with a lot of use and i would like to use it for at least another 20 or so. i live in anchorage and would prefer to use someone local. thanks.

Two things I would check would be visible damage to the crown and even powder dispersion around the crown after shooting.

Most likely your gun might just need a really good cleaning and copper removal.
    "Beware the man with only one gun; he may know how to use it."

Quote Originally Posted by kobuk View Post