Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Camera Help

Default Camera Help

Hi. New guy here, atleast in this department for sure. I am wanting to buy a decent digital for wildlife potography. I work as a fishing guide in the summer and will also be on a moose camp in September as a packer/guides assistant. I don't have a ton to spend for I only work 4 months a year and the rest of the time I am on Admiralty Island, fishing, trapping, hunting and living my dream life. I dont know where to begin with my search but have a budget of about 1500 to spend on camera and lens. I figure best bet will be used to get more bang for my buck, but dont know whats a good fit for a newbie that will take nicer pictures than the crappy thing I have right now. Please help. I do know I will get many different opinions and debates on the right camera, thats what I want. The more opinions the better, with my limited budget, I can only buy this camera once. Thanks in advance.
    Take a youngster out when you go, it will change his/her life forever!!

Default See the attached

There was a recent discussion on another thread

http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...ad.php?t=48988

If on a budget, forget a DSLR. A good wildlife lens will cost as much (or much more) than your $1,500 budget. I don't mean that to sound smug. Just being honest. Instead, look at some of the advanced point and shoots. One such model is in the link below and it has a 20x zoom. That will lend itself very useful for wildlife images. Spend $400 on a set up like this or spend $2,000+ on a entry level DSLR with a decent telephoto lens. Hmmm....

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...S_Digital.html
    The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.