Thread: .454 Casull or .44 Mag

Default .454 Casull or .44 Mag

I'm interested in buying a revolver large enough to try and hunt moose with, while also being able to carry it for bear protection on occasion. I've been primarily looking at either the .454 Casull or .44 Mag. I have never used a large caliber handgun for big game hunting so I have no experience in this matter. What would be the best option. I don't need a bunch of excess power, but I would rather be safe than sorry. Any helpfull recommendations and advice would be appreciated. As a side question, I kind of liked the advantage of being able to shoot .45 Colt through a .454 Casull. Does this do any excessive wear to the chambers, throat, barrel of a .454, or is it perfectly fine?

There seems to be a crap-ton of info on the forum that addresses this issue, try the search feature.
    I think you would be better served by the 454 if you want to experiment with moose [vs the 44]. I don't own a 454, so I can't comment on the use of alternative cartridges.

I bought a Ruger Alaskan .454 for carry in Alaska.

Default First handgun hunt? or just the first moose/handgun?

Quote Originally Posted by ak hunter View Post
    I'm interested in buying a revolver large enough to try and hunt moose with, while also being able to carry it for bear protection on occasion. I've been primarily looking at either the .454 Casull or .44 Mag. I have never used a large caliber handgun for big game hunting so I have no experience in this matter. What would be the best option. I don't need a bunch of excess power, but I would rather be safe than sorry. Any helpfull recommendations and advice would be appreciated. As a side question, I kind of liked the advantage of being able to shoot .45 Colt through a .454 Casull. Does this do any excessive wear to the chambers, throat, barrel of a .454, or is it perfectly fine?