Thread: fly-in questions

Default fly-in questions

All, I just booked my fly-in sheep hunt in the Wrangells. I will be coming in from the lower 48 (I am an AK resident in the military, stationed in the lower 48). My question is, for those who have flown in from out of state, how many days before and after the actual hunt should I buy airline tickets for? I just want to make sure I won't encounter any problems. On the front end, I'm trying to factor in delayed baggage; buying license, stove fuel, etc.; picking up sat phone; getting from the airport to the air taxi service location, and whatever else you all can think of. On the back end of the actual hunt, I'm trying to anticipate weather socking us in, sealing the ram, driving back to airport, maybe a shower thrown in there somewhere, etc. I do plan to buy the kind of airline tickets that you can change, but I also need to plan how many days of leave to take, etc. Any advice? Thanks.

Also forgot to mention caring for the meat/cape on the trip out. I understand Alaska Airlines has a freezer that can be used for this. Is that correct?

Default Your answer...enough days.

The first thing you can do is buy your license online (AKDF&G website) to save a bit of time and piece of mind. Number of days on the way in depends on where you are flying through; if you are connecting through an Airport notorious for losing luggage (i.e., ATL) you may want to consider adding time, but I would think a full day in Anchorage, plus some change would be adequate. That, of course, depends on what day of the week you are arriving, will all the places you need to visit be open?

You may want to consider the flexibility of your ticket when purchasing it as well, as different airlines approaching shifting a reservation differently. It may be worth paying a bit more for a ticket to get an airline and booking class that is more flexible. For leave, I would take more than you need, then adjust your days if you return early...don't be AWOL!