Thread: Kotzebue Hunting for Caribou, please help, newbie!

Unhappy Kotzebue Hunting for Caribou, please help, newbie!

Hello, I am new to group. This will be my 1st hunt for Caribou. I've never been to Alaska. This will be my husband and my 5th anniversary trip/present to us (my idea on the whole thing!) I'm trying to find a good outfitters guide to hunt Caribou in Alaska. Is the Kotzebue area a sure bet in bringing home a Caribou? I am nervous about spending this amount of money and not being able to come home with anything. I found Alaska Wilderness Charters and Guiding at Weguidealaska.com (anyone hear of them?) Are they reliable or know of any other outfitters site in this area. Or do you recommend we go to another part of Alaska. Also can you guide me in the right direction of what I need to know on how to make this happen, what I need (equipment, trip planning, purchases, phone calls to make, etc.) I would greatly appreciate. Also what dates are the best time to go this year. Also after reading other posts, they mention this is not going to be a good year to hunt for Caribou and wait till next year -is this true?

Quote Originally Posted by Senecaly75 View Post
    I am nervous about spending this amount of money and not being able to come home with anything.
    The above statement is a poor choice of words for this forum, IMO. Some will criticize you for wanting anything more than a good hunting "experience". Success should be a secondary goal in many eyes.
    However, since, in truth, success is important to all of us, and you are honest enough to state your lack of experience, there is good news.