Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What is your favorite surplus gun?

Default What is your favorite surplus gun?

So far, mine is my SKS. It was cheap to buy, cheap to shoot, and a heck of a lot of fun! I've been thinking of getting a cheap bolt action to take and plink with.

I'm not really into the collecting without shooting thing. And I like being able to modify cheap guns since I'm no expert.

So what trips your trigger?

My 7.62X54R SAKO M-39 Finnish Mosin Nagant.
    I use Czech 147 grn. LPS "silver tip" that is both eceedingly accurate AND a "Key Holer" that blows holes through things.
    If you can't Kill it with a 30-06, you should Hide.

"Dam it all", The Beaver told me.....

Any $65.00 to $99.00 singleshot shotgun. Cheap to buy, cheap to shoot. And if you loose it, so what......

Quote Originally Posted by strangerinastrangeland View Post
    My 7.62X54R SAKO M-39 Finnish Mosin Nagant.
    I use Czech 147 grn. LPS "silver tip" that is both eceedingly accurate AND a "Key Holer" that blows holes through things.
    hi stranger! leave it to you and your sako! when you are in the field, animals tremble at your name (or would if they knew you). i have a 1950 vintage mk4 enfield that is a lot of fun to shoot. generally it has a diet of surplus ammunition, but my softpoint reloads get the job done, too.

it was purchased as unissued, and has a quality walnut stock, the metal is blued (not black paint), most importantly it is accurate. back in the 60's-70's the .303 was common in most every village and hunting camp from dawson to nome. that has changed due to ammunition availability and the current cost of military rifles in NRA vg-excellent.

it will hold it's own on moose size critters, and has killed more that it's share of big bears. the old .303 is still a caliber to "reckon with"

happy trails.
    jh
    Attached Images Attached Images