Thread: Distances

Default Distances

Wow, this takes some getting used to. The distances in Alaska, I mean.

My employer is shutting down for 10 days in April to draw down inventories, and I'm taking the opportunity to visit Alaska for the first time.

So...plan an itinerary. Visit Anchorage, Talkeetna, Fairbanks/North Pole, Glenallen, Valdez, Kenai, and Homer.

Er..ah...there is just no way. Looking at mileages, I would have to spend most of my time just driving. Alaska is just too big, lol.

I really had two purposes for the trip - one was to look at land and the other was to hand out resumes with a particular emphasis on refineries.

For land, I'd tentatively like to look around the Talkeetna and Glenallen areas. It may make more sense to do this than to concentrate on hand delivering resumes. That would require going to North Pole, Valdez, and Kenai.

Does anyone have connections with the refineries or North Slope work? I have a degree in chemical engineering but have spent most of my career in production supervision (18 years) and have experience with DCS and running a control room. I currently work in the chemical industry.

Rick,
    Have you posted in the 'Help Wanted' section. You might get some responses in there as well.

As for refineries, have you already electronically submitted your resumes to places? Flint Hills?

How long do you have to be able to make this trip happen? Do you have the full 10 days, or as soon as your job 'shuts down' temporarily will you be traveling to Alaska?