Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Favorite Flys for Reds

Default Favorite Flys for Reds

I'm a newbie around here. I'm planning to make my first trip to AK the last two weeks of July. I'm also new to fly fishing, I've never done it. I'm planning to bring a couple of medium spinning rods & reels, spooled with 15-20 lb mono. I understand some parts of some rivers are fly only. I've also read that Reds only take flys. So my question is: What are your favorite flys for Reds? I'm hoping to fish the Kenai, as well as some streams around Anchorage.

Thanks in advance for any tips you can give this newbie. PMs if you don't care to post.

Default flies for reds

The "fly fishing only water" refers to the fly itself, not the method you fish it. I think most people use the coho or russian river fly for reds. You can fish one of these flies on with your spinning set up if you feel more comfortable with that, or you could make the leap into the world of flyfishing. Either way, you will have a great time.

Jake

Definently a simple Coho Fly or or a piece of yarn tied to a hook with an egg loop.
    You know your not catching any fish when you start talking about the weather...

http://www.alaskansalmonslayers.com/

the key is the weight, not so much the fly. You need to have weight on the line about 3 to 5 feet above your fly. The weight should be enough that you can feel it just barely tapping the bottom during your drift. Anything longer than a tap,tap, tap, like taaaaaaaap, is a fish. Set the hook and hold on. have fun.

Here are my thoughts on Sockeye.