Thread: Split board snowboards??

Default Split board snowboards??

I posted this in another thread, but since deleted it as to not further hijack gogoalie's thread.

I'm just looking into this option and like it a lot so far from what I read. However, I'm still a total newb at this so bear with me. Can ya posts some links of where to buy these boards, boots, and bindings?? Also I'm not sure how different it is for these split boards, but at 5'9 and 160 lbs I currently ride a 157 cm board. A 173 cm seems HUGE, do you need to get a board considerably longer than what you normally ride to make the skiing aspect of the split board better? How long does it take to go from a split board skiing setup to putting it together, adjusting the bindings for riding, and heading down the hill? Thanks for any info.

I'm no expert on split boards, but I know they set up quickly at the top of the hill (a few minutes at most). Sorry I can't help with the rest.

Default Once place to buy

REI has two different models in stock. Looked at them last week, range about $900-$1,000 for the board. I don't know anything about the boots. The boards seemed well constructed and very solid when locked together as a snowboard.

As you walk into REI they are just to right before across from the luggage.

Steve

if you are going backcountry, splitboards are the only way to go. you expend way less energy and time. if your using snowshoes its not even close to the performance of skinning to the top.