Thread: Bedding question

Default Bedding question

I am new to gunsmithing but decided i want to try and bed the stock on my winchester model 70. All of the information i have found on bedding is dealing w/ wood or fiberglass stocks. Can injection molded stocks even be bedded? If so, any tips would be appreciated.

I have seen several Winchester M-70's glass bedded into the plastic stock (own one). As you will see, pull your barreled action out of the stock and see what you have to work with. There are some large hollowed out spaces there that limit what you can do without adding a lot of weight. I put some graphite rods in the fore-end of mine and bedded them in to stiffen things up. Also removed some material from the lug recess and bedded there as well as in the tang area. It's not light by any means, but didn't cost an arm and a leg for a glass bed kit. My rifle likes some fore-end pressure so I had to allow for that. Good luck.

The problem with the injection molded stocks is getting the stuff to "stick". Go to Brownells website, search accraglass gel, then download the instructions. They will tell you all about the cautions of doing the molded stocks. Ive done one on a winnie, I followed their instructions, and it has held up well so far.

Default bedding composite stock

To fill in the "hollows" inside the stock, just spritz enough expandable foam like that used around doors and windows into them, then trim and sand smooth. To get the glas bedding compound to stick, you can rough up the inner surfaces of the stock with rough sandpaper and also when you remove some material from around the recoil lug, leave the surface rough. That should do the trick. I have even used a small diameter drill to drill very shallow holes at angles into the composite material to actually act as little anchors.

Quote Originally Posted by mauserboy View Post