Thread: Fact or Fiction: Dipnet Color Makes a Difference

Question Fact or Fiction: Dipnet Color Makes a Difference

I've talked to several seasoned dipnetters who say that black-colored nets catch far fewer fish than green-colored nets or clear mesh.

Evidently, the salmon can see the darker nets and will avoid them. Is there any truth to this theory?

I would agree 100%. Having friends who commercial fish that swear on net color I have to agree. Netting with multiple colors according to them would definatly catch more fish.

I'm no expert, but heres my experience. I've never caught a dipnet fish in a black landing net, though have tried. On a fair day on the kenai, where a friend caught 45, and I caught 35, he switched to his landing net (black net) and didn't catch a thing while I continued to net em. I've seen folks with the black nets not catch a thing, while the folks with the green gill nets around them are pulling them in.

I float on the kenai, and with a gil net often come in with multiple fish per float, as many as 6 at a time.

Now if you're on a boat, perhaps the black nets will work, and you won't have to untangle them. But from shore, odds are high the fish will be out of the net before you bring the fish in. They are lively and jump, I've had them fly out of my net and nearly bean me in the head, and I've had them bumping into my legs.

Default color

oddly enough this topic came up yesterday while I was dipnetting hooligan. A friend had a dipnet with Blue mesh, mine and another friend had white/tan nets. We definetely outdipped the blue mesh. All three nets has similar mesh and the blue on acually had the biggest opening. With salmon I just use clear gillnet so I don't know.

That's pretty convincing evidence to avoid the black landing nets. Looks like I'll be returning the one with the long telescoping handle that I just bought off the bargain rack for $14.99. Guess there was a good reason why it was so cheap.

Exclamation