Thread: calling moose

Question calling moose

Ive hunted moose in Ontario Canada for eleven years, I've never had experiences hunting like when I've been at the moose camp. I consider myself a good moose caller but still have lots to learn, I'm not an expert by any means but I've been able to call bull moose out almost every year,the last few years unfortunately our gang hasn't had a bull tag. So my question is this, is it possible to call a cow moose out and whats the best way?
    Thanks Jeff H

Default Calling Cows

While calling useing a bull grunt and or mixing it up using cow call along with a immature moose call I have called in cow moose during the mid-rut! Cows can be pretty curious during this time. Good luck!

Default cow calling

Jeff,

I've never "targeted" Cow Moose, however we have them come in to our calls on a fairly regular basis.

The timing needs to be right, in other words the Moose in your area will need to be full-swing into the rutt for it to work best.

Of course there are several ways to call Moose, and different folks use different methods. The fact is that its seems like a lot of "moose callers" are not every good at it, but think they are. Now I don't mean to sound aragant, because by no means am I an aragant person, just stating the facts.