Thread: penn reel ?

Default penn reel ?

I was given a couple of halibut rods. One has a penn 49 and the other a penn 149. Can anyone tell me if these are decent reels for halibut fishing around Kodiak. I'm new to Halibut fishing all together so this will be my first year chasing them. Any advice is welcome

That 149 should do just fine but the 49 is a tad small. It would work in a pinch but if you can resort to something better then I would.
    "Ya can't stop a bad guy with a middle finger and a bag of quarters!!!!"- Ted Nugent.

Default The most important thing...

Is checking out the drag on reels that have been setting around. Most Penn reels these days use the same Ht100 drag system, and you can buy a new set of drag washers (metal and fiber) from lots of mail order places, Cabelas etc. or find in bigger tackle shops. If you have little release from a tight drag, ie: you have to tighten the drag almost all the way before it begins to resist, change those washers!

The smaller reel could be filled with 50, 65 or 80 pound Power Pro super braid, and have plenty of line on it. I wouldn't worry about the size of any Penn reel too much as long as you have enough line for the depth you are finshing in, with about 50% extra, ie 450 feet for 300 ft depth. That's a minimum! All Penn reels are really strong, and halibut usually fight straight to the bottom. Of course, a bigger reel is easier, but the small ones will work if that is what you have and can afford.

I have several Penn Senators, but have gone to the mid to larger size Penn GT reels, level wind in nice! The 320GT2 is ideal. Unless you want to spend more on fine 2-speed reels etc.