Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new to goat hunting

Default new to goat hunting

Hi, I just got a goat permit, I am thinking of using my 388 and loading with Nosler Accubond bullets, I have no experience with these bullets and how they work on tough animals. Anyone have any insight or experience with these bullets. Thanks for any help

210 grain Nosler partition works great on goat. I mainly use hand loads, but I have found that the Federal Premium Safari loads work quite well with my Stainless Stalker from Browning.
    "...and then Jack chopped down the beanstock, adding murder and ecological vandalism to the theft, enticement and vandalism charges already mentioned, but he got away with it and lived happily ever after without so much as a guilty twinge about what he had done. Which proves that you can be excused just about anything if you're a hero, because no one asks the inconvenient questions." Terry Pratchett's The Hogfather

Hey thanks for the info, I also hand load so will be trying to work up a load for this hunt.

my .338 has taken two goats, one for me and one for my wife. both were one shot kills with nosler 210 federal premiums
    Alaska Board of Game 2015 tour... "Kicking the can down the road"
    http://www.alaskabackcountryhunters.org/

Have shot 22 goats, most with the .338 Win. Mag. because that was all I had. It worked fine; However if I was to have a choice now, I would choose something with less recoil, many times you are shooting in aweful positions, like the toe of your left boot only on the ground, and your right leg hooked over something, a rock or a small stunted hemlock. One time I had to use my pants belt looped over a rock and hold the fore end and the belt with my left hand, knowing that when I fired I would fall six or eight feet.