Thread: nosler Accubond

Default nosler Accubond

Hi, I just got a goat permit, I am thinking of using my 388 and loading with Nosler Accubond bullets, I have no experience with these bullets and how they work on tough animals. Anyone have any insight or experience with these bullets.

I've had good accuracy in my .375 with 260gr Accubonds, haven't shot anything yet. There long and pointy so max COL to load in your magazine is as long as you can go.

My brother shot a Dall Sheep last year with 200gr Accubonds in a .338 700 Remington that was loaded with 73.1gr of RL-19. It went 2900fps and grouped right at an inch. COL was set at 3.362" for his rifle.

Thanks, I had a guy at the range yesterday tell me about this bullet, he said he liked them but hadn't shot anything either, I guess this is a fairly new bullet, I know nosler makes a good bullet so this should be no exception. congradulations on your brother getting a sheep. I hope he shared some with you. I don't think there is a better tasting animal around.

I have had great accuracy with them (for a hunting bullet) five shots in less than an inch out of a Blaser.

But no idea how they perform on game

Quote Originally Posted by akbone View Post
    Thanks, I had a guy at the range yesterday tell me about this bullet, he said he liked them but hadn't shot anything either, I guess this is a fairly new bullet, I know nosler makes a good bullet so this should be no exception. congradulations on your brother getting a sheep. I hope he shared some with you. I don't think there is a better tasting animal around.
    We took some Dall Sheep stew on our moose hunt. It was the best stew I ever ate. It was the first sheep I ever had and I must admit I want more.

I'm thinking that you have a .338 and .388 was a typo, am I wrong. I wasn't aware of a .388 in an Accubond bullet, perhaps they have made one recently?

Anyway, if it is a .338 the load I mentioned is working well.