Thread: Lead core

Default Lead core

Ok I must admit I am a novice when it comes to fly fishing. I am a pro at the lead core under a different application though. I was having a discussion whith another fly fisher that said he uses a 2-3 foot section of lead core tied into the fly line to get the presentation down a bit deeper. I have never heard of this... He claims to use a nail knot for the terminal ends, and claims that it does assist in fast water or in deeper presentations.

Ok, logic tells me this will not cast well and this goes against what I (in my limited research) have learned in fly fishing. I understand the concept but have never seen it in action. Can anyone enlighten me on this concept?

Pulling core trolling I have no issues, from monster core to bird core, 2 colors to SWR rigs... Just never seen the application on a fly line.

Thanks.

Mark

Default that all depends

Many times you are using a technique called flipping rather than actual fly casting. Using the lead core as described, knots and all, works well for this. I make sure the length is such that the nail knots stay out of the guides.

Don't know how well an actual fly fishing cast would work with this arrangement because I've never used it for that. But I can tell you that when needed, I've been able to get out as far as needed for this type of fishing.

So, it just depends.

Default I think..

From your description you are talking about a homemade sink tip....which are available in a myriad of sizes, sink rates etc.

I got into flyfishing about ten years ago and started with float lines only and when I went to sink tips, I had the full market available to buy from but a buddy of mine who has been fishing AK for 30 years talked about (and still practices) making his own shooting heads and sink tips much as you describe and the certainly have a place in streamer and fleshfly angling (and others too, but that's where I use them.)