Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: another goat hunting thread

Default another goat hunting thread

Sorry, I know the goat questions are flying around like crazy right now but I gotta ask. I am hunting DG475 with a couple other guys, one of which has hunted goats. I am new to goat hunting but I would like to learn as much as possible before goin out there.

I am in Anc. Any areas to hike into to just VIEW goats? Not asking for handouts, just want to glass them as much as possible before heading out. Willing to hike in a ways and spend a couple days viewing.

Lotsa books on sheep, are there any goat hunting books/reading?

Thanks for any help,
    Jason

Jason,
    Try West of Girdwood just West of town on one of the big pull outs. Look @ the Mtns behind you. If you want a closer look try going up to the Crow creek Trail head on the Girdwood side. Other places are: @ the head of Eklutna; was told Eagle River as well; Moose Pass; & Cooper Landing areas as well. Also scored DG475 be ready to battle some nasty brush. One of the more pressured areas I have hunted over there. 180 tags awarded.

A few years ago I saw plenty of Goats on the Eagle River Trail. More goats than sheep as a matter of fact. I drew 475 as well. Agree that 180 permits are a bunch but out of those only half will go.
    I already booked my flight the price is about 1650.00 that is a chunk of change not counting gear and time off, the flight to Kodiak as well. Oh well can't take it with you >>LOL
    Anyone want to swap pointers and advice on how to "gear" up please feel free to send a shout out. God help me if I ever figure out how much that meat is per Pound..

Goat viewing areas:

-Ridge to the east of the highway right at Tern Lake (Y in the road to Seward). There are always goats on that ridge right above the highway. Climb the ridge at the end near the lake, then run the top of it (which is very mellow hiking) until you get above the goats.