Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How does it work here?

Default How does it work here?

I have heard so many conflicting things about hunting up here I don't know what is accurate. How does it work here? Just buy a moose tag and hunt during the season on any public land? Is it the same way for bear, deer, and so on? Is it more like a raffle to hunt? Is there any truth to if you haven't hunted in AK before you must hunt with someone who has first? I'm lost and have no idea what is fact. When are the seasons for big game? Can someone please clear this up for me please. Thanks

Doug, read the regs first on what you can glean off of it.

http://www.wildlife.alaska.gov/index...ations.hunting

Then ask questions if you are confused. But be careful. Some on the forum look as though you should know all the rules and such, even if you are a newbie.

I am not sure how that works, as I am a newbie too, and some people are becoming increasingly rude.

I guess they should have a newbie thread...

Quote Originally Posted by doug1980 View Post
    I have heard so many conflicting things about hunting up here I don't know what is accurate. How does it work here? Just buy a moose tag and hunt during the season on any public land? Is it the same way for bear, deer, and so on? Is it more like a raffle to hunt? Is there any truth to if you haven't hunted in AK before you must hunt with someone who has first? I'm lost and have no idea what is fact. When are the seasons for big game? Can someone please clear this up for me please. Thanks
    No amount of education can help those who want to remain permanently ignorant of facts, which includes those whom have been educated.