Thread: Help with loading 300 RUM please.

Fish Hook

Default Help with loading 300 RUM please.

I'm kinda new to reloading and so far have just reloaded 44 mag and spl for my Ruger Redhawk. Today I started on my 300 RUM. Had a real hard time finding retumbo powder, which I wanted but did buy some Accurate Magpro as that is all I have seen in stock for my RUM.

I have been going by the book and so far have resized new cases and deburred the edges of the neck and washed them. I then installed the primers, CCI mag primer large rifle 250.

The speer manual calls for a starting load of 79 grains which I accuratly loaded.

Next I seated the 200 gr Nosler Accubond spitzer to the tested COAL of 3.600. I held it up to a factory Corelokt ultra psp 180 gr which measured at 3.534. I loaded the Nosler round in the magazine at it just barely fit so I took it down to 3.574 where it fits but not by alot. Is this ok or can I take it down to the same length as the factory round? I have only loaded one round so far and have not been able to load the magazine up the whole way to see how they will load. I understand the closer to the rifling with out touching is best but will I lose much accuracy reducing the tested COAL?

My next question, which I think is really important is if I should put any crimp on it. The book says only if there are cannalures, which the Accubonds do not have. It also says if you have a rifle with alot of recoil, which the 300 RUM is noted for, it may move the bullets in the cases so a crimp could be needed. Not sure what to do?

I want to load about 10 rounds and see how they do. I might load 5 with 80 gr to see if there is much difference. 83 grains are the max. Still not as fast as Retumbo but its all I can find at this time.

My next question or statement is if anyone can give me any advice I would really appreciate it. I have been having a ball learning to reload the 44 but the 300 ultramag just takes a little more "tinkering".

Thanks for the help!