Thread: Static & Reloading

Default Static & Reloading

I'm new to the hobby and had some questions regarding static & reload bench placement. I realize that there is a lot of static in our house, as I shock myself frequently after walking on the carpet. If I'm setting up my reload equipment in the garage, am I in the clear regarding static, or do I need to take additional measures? My garage has a concrete floor and is heated.

Tim

I managed to generate a lot of static in my house and some in my shop.
    I have started to ground myself before I start handling my reloading gear just in case. Usually I just touch my big metal filing cabinet and get a nice discharge of static. I am thinking about driving a piece of re-bar into the ground next to the shop and running a wire up by my bench.

I am now on my second little electronic scale after I fried the first one.
    I now wipe down some of my gear with an anti static dryer towel before use. It really seems to help.
    It was so bad that powder would either stick to or jump out of a little plastic powder pan/funnel I use.
    Floatplane,Tailwheel and Firearms Instructor- Dragonfly Aero
    Experimental Hand-Loader, NRA Life Member
    http://site.dragonflyaero.com

Default help with the static in a powder dump

to cut down on the static, rub the inside of your powder dump with a dryer sheet. some even wrap a sheet on the outside of the pd. this is all i know.

Default Static

I also wipe the inside of my funnel down with a dryer sheet. One sheet will last a very long time!

Jake