Thread: lower recoil loads

Default lower recoil loads

I am just getting into reloading and have a question. is it possible to load a lower recoil load for .45 acp??? want to do speed shooting and thought lower recoil loads would help me get on target quicker. is this even possible??? I havent really learned all my advantages or disadvantages to reloading yet just how to do it. and i've only reloaded 150 rounds of .45 right now so im still learning. any help would be nice thanks
    God Created Man Samuel Colt Made Them Equal

Quote Originally Posted by stetsoncoltoutdoors View Post
    I am just getting into reloading and have a question. is it possible to load a lower recoil load for .45 acp??? want to do speed shooting and thought lower recoil loads would help me get on target quicker. is this even possible??? I havent really learned all my advantages or disadvantages to reloading yet just how to do it. and i've only reloaded 150 rounds of .45 right now so im still learning. any help would be nice thanks
    It's possible, but likely would require a change in springs if you wanted to go real low. That would mean you'd have to switch it back for shooting more powerful loads though, or risk damaging the frame and/or slide. I've seen it done, but I'm a revolver guy rather than a semi, so I've never done it myself. Theoretically you could keep going down in loads till the action failed to cycle with the full strength spring, then bump the loads back up a little for reliability, too. I'm in water too deep for my experience to speculate further.

Anyone else?

Default More thoughts

Quote Originally Posted by stetsoncoltoutdoors View Post
    Stetsoncoltoutdoors,

short answer, lighter recoil spring or shorten a standard (buy a spare) strength spring.

Check this thread.

http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...ad.php?t=47383
    or
    forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/showthread.php?t=47383