Thread: Beginner

Default Beginner

I am currently a full-time college student here in AK. I am extremely interested in flying, but I am not certain on how to get involved with Alaskan Aviation at this point. I understand that it is very expensive, but in my mind it is worth every penny. I plan on owning a supercub in the future, so I was debating jumping right into flight lessons (after college), or something else? I have also heard that there is a "Lighter Weight Class" flying that is much cheaper and takes half the time to become certified, I believe it was for pipers, planes of that sort. Other than lessons, classes atUAA what are some good ways to associate myself into the world of aviation, (Alaska Style)...???

Default Beginner

Welcome Sperbear, Glad to see that you want to fly. I would suggest that you check out all of the flight schools in the Anchorage area and find the school and instructor (very improtant to find an instructor that you fit with) that fits your schedule and budget. Yes it is expensive, but prices will never be any lower than they are right now. I wish that I had finished when it only cost $3000 for a license, see my point.

The light weight class that you are refering to is called the "Light Sport Catagory" and is relatively new. I know you are limited to only one passenger, a maximum gross weight for the aircraft and I believe you are also limited on how far you can fly from your "home" airport.

The best way to find out about flying, especially in Alaska, is to become an old fashioned "Airport Bum" and hang out and make some friends and learn from them.
    Adison

Default need a CFI Friend

The best way is to get a CFI friend with plane who will teach you for cost. Otherwise, start rolling out the C notes.
    Unfortunatley, there is no slam dunk way into flying now. I am a successful professional, with two college degrees, and my income alone is WELL above the median Anchorage household income, and it's still tough.