Thread: Bear recurve bow history

Default Bear recurve bow history

Hello
    I have been hunting with my father's old bear kodiak for about 20 years now.
    He had purchased it used, atleast 40 years ago.
    Does anyone know where I could research the manufacture date,by using the serial #??
    It's still a great bow, and the only one I hunt with.
    My dream would be to moose hunt in the next few years.
    Thanks in advance.
    Happy hunting
    Bill

Unhappy Bow History...

I'd Google Joe StCharles, and he has all the history your looking for.I have a trad bow magazine that has all the info, but would have to look through a couple hundred of them.GR

Thanks rover, I'll try that tonight.
    Bill

Thanks again for the reply.
    What a great site.
    I got the info I needed.
    My bow was built in 1967, and still going strong.
    Happy hunting
    Bill

I can tell you what you have, pics are best. There is a possibilty the bow may be older that 1967 as dating a Bear Kodiak by serial number alone is not sure thing. I own over 140 Bear Kodiaks and have been collecting them for more than 10 years now. Bear quit making the Kodiak model in 1966, it was replaced with the Super Kodiak in 1967. Here is a pic of Bear Kodiaks 1961-1966 from my collection.

So that is where all those old bows went!!
    I'll try to get some pics this wknd,and try to post them.(not very computer smart).
    Thanks for the reply
    Bill

Th the 4th bow down looks exactly like mine.
    My father added a sight and quiver mount to the bow that are gone now, but the screw holes remain.
    I am sure the value was hurt badly.
    But I will never part with it, just looking at it brings fond memories of my youth and of my fathers early years of bow hunting.
    Plus I still hunt with it.
    Thanks for the photo.
    Bill