Thread: Need help with neck sizer bushing.

Default Need help with neck sizer bushing.

I am just getting into reloading, and am looking at Hornady's Match 308 die. What I need to know is what neck sizing bushing to get.
    They have .332, .334, .336, .338 I will be loading 168 SMK's into Winchester Brass. I have a whole bunch of Remington Premier that used Win. Brass.

Thanks in advance for sharing your experience.

P.S. I shoot a Savage 10FP if that matters at all.

Quote Originally Posted by SavageStag View Post
    I am just getting into reloading, and am looking at Hornady's Match 308 die. What I need to know is what neck sizing bushing to get.
    They have .332, .334, .336, .338 I will be loading 168 SMK's into Winchester Brass. I have a whole bunch of Remington Premier that used Win. Brass.

Thanks in advance for sharing your experience.

P.S. I shoot a Savage 10FP if that matters at all.
    I'm sure someone with more experience will chime before the days end.

I'm thinking you need to measure your fired brass and pick a bushing based on that measurement. You will want a bushing that closes the neck back down only a couple thousands rather than back to SAAMI Specs.

The whole idea behind those bushing options is to minimize working your brass and tailoring your brass to your chamber. If all else fails call Hornady and get their recommendations on picking the bushing.

Default loaded, not fired

Stag,

If Hornady measures theirs the same way Redding does, you need to measure the outside neck diameter of a LOADED round, not the fired brass, with a micrometer. If you don't have one loaded take your micrometer to SW and measure the neck diameter of a couple of bullets that use Winchester brass.