Thread: New to Anchorage! Help!

Default New to Anchorage! Help!

Howzit everyone! im new to the small game hunting around here and me and my brother would like to try it out. we wanted to try and go for hare first then possibly some ptarmigan. I was wondering what kind of guns would be good for a beginner. and also is it possible to use regular .22 & .177 hmr rifels for small game? Also if anybody knows of a good place to go in the anchorage bowl area? I already got the regulations and the map from DOFAG i just need some in depth advice about everything else. thanks in advance i appreciate it!

Any advice about small game helps, thanks!

Default welcome to AK

Well, im a little bothered that in the week you've posted this question nobody has given you some advice on where to go. It's kind of selfish and you'll have to get used to it. Your caliber choices are great. I do recomend that you get out of the anchorage area and go north. a small snow machine will serve you well. you should be on the look out for a use yamaha bravo, skidoo elan, or ski doo tundra/skandic. You should be able to pick one up for around 1500 give or take. find a small creek up north that has signs of a trail system, dont go alone and have a good set of snowshoes too. look for varying elevation on the maps. you could also do a multiple purpose trip and set an ice fishing shack up and do both, small game and fishing. again, good luck and stay the hell out of the anchorage area, its worth the gas money. you must have tools to get off the road system: boat/atv for summer and fall, and a snow machine for winter.

Default Just need feet