Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bead fishing questions

Default Bead fishing questions

So a bit of background....I'm not from Alaska, first trip will be this August. I've never heard of beads before this forum, I have only fly fished with egg pattern flies. I've been doing some reading on beads, and how to fish them, rig them, etc.

Do beads work better than tied egg patterns? Is there a reason behind why/why not? Why is the hook below the bead instead of against/near it?

Isn't this technique just "lining" the fish in the mouth and setting the hook? Isn't it also more similar to snagging than catching? From my reading it sounds like trout reject beads almost instantly, and I know most peoples' reflexes will not be able to set the hook fast enough.....so wouldn't you be a lot more likely to injure the fish using this method?

Hope I don't cause a ruckus, I'm just a newbie and curious and looking to limit the harm I do to any fishery that I visit. Thanks for any responses.

Default My thoughts - certainly no expert

IMO, placing the bead an inch or two above the hook decreases hooking mortality because you don't end up with so many fish hooked down in the gills and stomach. The fish goes to inhale the bead, but the hook tends to stay on the side of the mouth (or at least father out of their throats). You get the added benefit that the hook isn't visible with the egg, so it's an even more natural presentation, but I think the really beauty of the rig is it reduces deep-hooked fish.

Of course, some people took that to the extreme and pegged the bead several inches above the hook in order to "hide" the hook. AK Fish & Game recently came up with the regulation putting the maximum distance between bead and hook at 2 inches. I'm thinking the reason for this was to prevent fish getting hooked in the eyes, belly (how common was this actually? I couldn't say.)