Thread: Buying my Raft

Default Buying my Raft

Well i am buying my raft this spring and so far for my fishing and hunting it looks to be like the NRS otter 14 footer. for the price and warranty alaska raft and kayak offers seems to be my best bet. i have no rafting experience but really want to put in my time. i plan on using this boat on the kasilof and kenai along with all the rivers up north. i could not find how much weight the boat will hold??? can someone help me with that. and also any other brands i should look at before my buy would be great. also any info on frames would be nice. so far im looking at the 2 cooler seats with the rowing frame and a seat on front and rear... does that sound like the best bet for the aaskan fisherman and hunter... i def want a raft not a cataraft thanks vance

NRS doesn't post the max weight specs for their boats on their website: http://www.nrsweb.com, and that's probably good in my opinion. These are such inflated numbers and everyone judges them differently. But in relative terms they compare pretty much to anyone elses 14' rafts with the same 20" tube diameter.

In the real world it depends on the places you want to take it; how rough the water, how tight the chanel, how shallow the river, how good the oarsman. The only real answer is, It depends. For floating the Copper you can max them right out, but getting down the Gulkana requires completely different rigging.

Ditto to what Jim said. You're probobly looking at 2000 lbs in class I situations, maybe a bit more. Remember too, it's how you load the weight... keep it low and balanced.

Default Questions back at ya-

Vegas,

I've been on the road and not able to connect here as regularly as usual, so pardon me if I missed it, but here goes.

The best way for us to help you is for you to tell us what you plan to do with the boat. Here are a few things that will influence my recommendations for you:

1. Your experience level.