Thread: Boat Heaters

Default Boat Heaters

I have a Wallas Ceramic Diesel Heating/Cooking stove that came with the 26' boat. It has a fan, works well, providing enough heat on most days if you keep the door closed. But, the better half is not impressed with the modest temperture. Gloves or no gloves, if her hands get cold its time to head back as the heater just cannot keep up on chilly days out on the salt.

I would like something that would work inside that cabin as a backup and to place on the deck with the top up and curtains snapped. A know that a little more heat would improve the mood and enhance a day that may be a little too cool for all the family to enjoy.

I've noticed some portable units on other boats, mostly catalytic/propane, but I have no experience with them. Any recommendations, your experiences positive or not, would be appreciated. Thx

Default Wallas and buddy.

I have a wallas 85du (cook top, close the lid and the fan blows) it kept us nice and toasty today (30 degrees). Its nice because the heat is dry, When it gets really cold I will bring our "buddy heater" its propane, runs on the little bottles and even though its small it cranks out a fair amount of supplementary heat. Never needed it myself but the wife seems to be cold blooded. If you can keep her warm she's a heck of a lot mote fun. When she gets cold she would just as soon be grading papers! Not a bad deal I guess if they are the fun torque or angular momentum problems the physics kids do... Middle school essays are more of a drag! There are better ways to go if you have the dough but for the price the buddy does a great job. I did notice the few times we have used the buddy that the windows seem to fog up a lot worse on the inside than if I just use the wallas. Does your boat have a carpeted ceiling and walls? Maybe that bit of insulation would help?

Default SEO - Wallas Onboard