Thread: Afishhunt Charters

Default Afishhunt Charters

Has anyone had any experience with Afishunt Charter out of Ninilchik? I have booked trips with them for June 2-7. They seemed to be decient people. Another question, I keep getting conflicting answers and I can't find it in the Alaska fishing regs. As far as limits I know Halibuts are 2 per day but can you keep fishing (catch and release) after you get you limit? The same for king salmon on the Kasilof River- (1) salmon per day. If I get lucky enough to catch one can I keep fish? I am NOT a meat hog I just want to catch fish and take pictures. I have been saving and looking foreword to this trip for many years and want to get the most out of it.

Any help/tips would be appreciated.

Default Re: Charters

"As far as limits I know Halibuts are 2 per day but can you keep fishing (catch and release) after you get you limit?"

I would ask that same question to the charter operator and then hold them to it. I have found some charters that like the chicken farms (smaller fish) like to just grab a line and kill a fish just to get back to the dock after only a 2 hr charter because everyone caught their 2 fish.

2cents

Doug

The Kasilof used to be keep a king and you are done for the day. (2 years) I have not heard its changed so better check before you do it.

I answered this once before on the same thread ... but it seems to have disappeared.

You are, by law, allowed to continue to catch-and-release after retaining your king (hatchery or wild on their given days) on the Kasilof

Unhappy

“...because we’re nice to the fish, releasing them ‘unharmed,’ we can receive both psychic dispensation and blessing. Needless to say, if you think about this relationship carefully, it’s not a comforting one, for it is a game of dominance followed by a cathartic pardons, which, as a nonfishing friend remarked, ‘is one of the hallmarks of an abusive relationship.’” —Ted Kersote :-(