Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lens question

Default Lens question

First let me say that you folks on this forum take some stunning pictures! I am pretty new to photography and just purchased a Canon 30D, body only. Any suggestions on a first lens? Probably 90% will be outdoors in a variety of conditions, and some zoom would be nice also. Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions.

Dave

Quote Originally Posted by barrowdave View Post
    First let me say that you folks on this forum take some stunning pictures! I am pretty new to photography and just purchased a Canon 30D, body only. Any suggestions on a first lens? Probably 90% will be outdoors in a variety of conditions, and some zoom would be nice also. Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions.

Dave
    IMO, the first lens should be a "short" zoom. You'll want to get to know the camera and its' capabilities before you start to reach out and touch something. A longer zoom is going to push you back from your subject to keep it in the frame, and the opportunity to back up from your subjects might not be present when you first starts. I'm a Nikon shooter, so I don't know the Canon line-up other than to say if you can afford it, get "L" glass. It's expensive, but it seems to be worth it. I'd probably look at a 24-70 f/2.8, followed by the 70-200 f/2.8. Those two lenses alone can set you back almost $3,000, but watch for used glass from places like Adorama and KEH. Excellent values, and very reliable quality. I think Jim, Corey, Eddie, Ray and Dan are all Canon shooters, so look at their work and ask them what they like.

Enjoy the new camera, and welcome to the forum.

Cheers,
    SH