Thread: How to clean a chimney?

Default How to clean a chimney?

This might be a dumb question, but are there any special tricks to clean a woodstove chimney? Any particular things NOT to do??? I have always just hired somebody to clean ours, but I recently bought a brush and the cleaning rod so I can clean it myself. Is it as simple as it seems, just run the brush up and down the stack a few times?

Well, I dont see any responses yet. I am no expert, but I am a committed DIYer. I had a nice soap stone stove in Montana with a 12 foot ceiling. I cleaned that sucker every fall. When I installed the stove I also installed a T for the stack. With the T I could open the bottom and tie a plastic bag around it to catch the soot when I brushed it. I climbed up on the roof and stared the brush down the stack, adding sections to the fiberglass pole as needed. Did a lot of pushing and pulling up and down as I worked the brush downward until it reached the opening in the T. Then pulled it up and out. Lived in that house for 12 years with no flue fire. My 2c. Good luck. If you have a 16ft stack, train for it, it is a work out. Ken
    NRA Lifetime Member

Default chimney cleaning

It is not a hard job to run a brush up and down a chimney. I had a company for many years doing cleaning, install, sales and service in CO. You are paying for the sweeps experience, knowledge of your chimney and stove installation, getting on your roof, and doing a nice clean job without getting soot in the home.
    If there is a problem with what he sees in your chimney he can tell you what you may be doing wrong as your burning habits.

What to look for on your chimney?
    Loose or sloppy pipe fittings
    Dripping creosote on the outside of the chimney, inside or outside of the house.
    If the pipe lifts at any point during the cleaning (now you have a problem)
    Be careful getting on the roof
    Proper chimney and brush sizing donít get it stuck.