Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bear Spray

Default Bear Spray

I am relatively new to alaska.. can anyone tell me how effective bear spray is... I was told that this subject was taboo but I cant imagine that it would be

It's not a "taboo" subject at all. Simply be prepared to hear a LOT of folks provide their opinions stating that guns are better.

Bear spray, when used properly, will work most of the time. Get training and learn about bear behavior and how to venture into bear country. Avoidance is always the best option.
    Winter is Coming...

Go GeocacheAlaska!

First of all, welcome to the forum

I agree with JOAT's comments above.

I prefer guns, but that does not make it right for everyone. Good camping practices, making noise in dense areas, keeping a clean camp, limited smelly foods in camp, giving bears their space, etc... are far more important. And for the most part, are all that are required. But there are times, when that is not enough. "Bad bears" or what ever you want to call them, exist. Below is a response I posted to a recent similar discussion. It may offer some insights for you.

I carry my S&W 500 and Marlin guide gun 45-70 on all my float trips. I would not come to any place in Alaska where bears are likely to be without the revolver at least.