Thread: situk river trip

Default situk river trip

So this year I am planing the hit the Situk river for some steelhead fishing. around may 10th. now being a college student I don't have the money to stay at a lodge or hotel I know there are camping spots out by the river and was wondering if anyone knew if there were services in yakutat that would drive me out (I think there is a taxi service but not sure) and if so what would be the cost?

Yea the taxi cost $150 each way but you might be able to hitch a ride from the fly shop there. Shoot Bob (I think its Bob) an email the website is www.situk.net
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

I can't remember the name of the person that rents vehicles in Yakutat, but you could contact the Yakutat Lodge at 907-784-3232 and they would be able to tell you his number...got to be cheaper than a cab.

Quote Originally Posted by kjashen View Post
    I can't remember the name of the person that rents vehicles in Yakutat, but you could contact the Yakutat Lodge at 907-784-3232 and they would be able to tell you his number...got to be cheaper than a cab.
    it was $80 a day I think, plus gas in 2007

Situk Leasing rents vehicles. Price per day with tax is now over 100 bucks plus gas. Situk Leasing is affiliated with the Yakutat Lodge, so a call there will get you connected.

The great thing about Yakutat Lodge is that it is located 30 steps from the airport exit door. The people there are quite friendly and are usually happy to help. I would suggest that you call and make reservations now as the Situk gets a pretty fair amount of pressure in the time you are looking at going. Yakutat is a very small town so the vehicles that they lease in that town go fast.

Proudly Serving Since 1997
    The circle is complete again, finally. The force is once again balanced!
    "Only a Sith deals in absolutes in regards to fishing!"