Thread: Fishfinder/Gps Combo or 2 seperate units for riverboat

Default Fishfinder/Gps Combo or 2 seperate units for riverboat

I'm looking for some opinions here for electronics for my Sportjon. As the title says, I'm debating whether to buy a fishfinder/gps combo or a less expensive fishfinder and upgrade my current gps that I use for hunting, hiking, etc. Obviously I can't carry my fishfinder around in the woods with me. 95% of my fishing will be done in rivers and lakes. I might make a trip to Valdez for silvers but I'm not going to be tackling any open ocean. Any recommendations on a unit would be welcome. There are so many to choose from it's hard to even begin to decide.

Default GPS/ Depth combo

I put a Humminbird 797c2 combo unit in my Sport Jon and like it thus far. although with all the options its a little cumbersome learning it. also the screen size is large enough to view while standing. I mostly got a combo to take up less room on what dash there is. I'm still learning the GPS although once I get it understood I'm sure it will fit my needs.

Its a river boat so I really only use the depth finder in a lake, although is neet to read the river depth / changes in the bottom. I am trying to learn more shallow areas letting me get more GPH on the river though.
    (hope this help some)

Default GPS

AH, the world of ever changing electronics. I bought a Garmin 400C last year for a riverboat and I like it, it has been relatively ez to use, Color was important to me and it does not have a GPS.
    I have a Rino 130 GPS for that function. I have only used it in Homer as I have been concered w/ ripping it off on the rivers.