Thread: Redington RS4?

Default Redington RS4?

Hey all,
    I'm a novice fly-fisherman looking for my first salmon/steelhead set-up. The Redington RS4 9wt has caught my eye, and they're on sale! Anyone have experience with this rod? Or any other suggestions? My price range is under $200, and I'm hoping to make my first trip to Yak. this spring for steelhead.
    Thanks!

Jay

I have the 10 wgt. in that rod and pretty much just use it for saltwater. Mainly rockfish. I have used it for kings though and it worked well. I have heard reports of them breaking. Are you set on the 9wgt. for Steelies? Why not a 7 or 8?

Default Kings

I was thinking that I could fish also fish Kings with a 9wt. I was originally thinking 8wt. but my fishing friends who watch me horse-around all the time recomended a 9wt for versatility, and durability. I also don't have a back-up for this spring, so I don't want to break my only rod while in in Yakutat. You've got me thinking though, thanks for the response.

Jay

A back up rod is always a great idea. Also remember that most all (if not all) rod manufacturers will make you an extra tip section for a fee. Depending on the rod, could be $50-150 for an extra tip section. I have done this for a few rods and like the peace of mind it offers.
    The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.

Default back up rod

You are planning to go down to the Situk, and only bring one rod? I would strongly recommend bringing at least one back up. It would really suck to fall and break your only rod on the first day, or to break it on your first fish. I think an 8wt would be a better choice for steelies, as well as silvers, chums, and reds.

Jake

Hey Jay,