Thread: getting started trapping

Default getting started trapping

hey does anyone have some good advice for getting started on trapping. I'm not looking to get rich on furs or even catch every little thing just looks like good fun and want to do it. ive used paddle traps before and know about them... wasnt ever good with it but know how to set one. i was looking into maybe some snares. and a few other traps whats some of your guys recommendations on buying a good variety.. I would like to catch a lynx and maybe some fox... along with a pine martin or something... what do i need trap wise... im just reading on the regs today.... can you catch grouse and such now id catch them to eat there yummy if legal.. and bunnies too how are grouse caught???
    God Created Man Samuel Colt Made Them Equal

This is my first year and I started out pretty small. I set a dozen footholds and half dozen conibears. I guess the hardest part is to find you a spot. If you want Lynx then I would say get some #3's and set cubbies in the area. Set conibear 120's for marten on either vertical or pole sets. As for snares I went onto the snare shop and they have snares for whatever you want. Not sure if you could set a trap for grouse but you might get one by accident. Rabbits are easy if they are around. Just get some rabbit snares and set theree trails, you'll have them in no time. I used snares set over rabbit trails for fox. I set them about 6-8 inch off the ground over bunny trails. I just got my first fox, so I am pumped. So far this year I have caught 3 lynx and the one fox, and few bunnies and some squirrles. I'm in a heavily trapped area though. Well good luck and hope this helped!