Thread: New to hunting in AK Need Help

Default New to hunting in AK Need Help

Hello All,
    I am new to hunting in Alaska. Have been here since May 2005 so I meet the one year requirement. I have a Smith & Wesson model 270 bolt action. I grew up shotgun hunting in Ohio for deer. So any info that anyone has that can help me out on gear or places to hunt for Alaska Game would be appreciated. I have no ATV as well. I have been to the Ohio hunters safety course.

Thanks for any help.

Default You're in the right place.

No Fun...what kind of name is that? I sense a lack of enthusiasm for hunting here cause you just feel overwhelmed right? You're in the right place man...this site and www.pristineventures.com are two invaluable resources to help you get familiar with hunting and the outdoors in AK.

The best thing you can do..is read, read, and read some more about what your are interested in doing and start pecking away at accumulating the gear you need for that specific task. Don't try to do it all at once..it will come in time. Just pick something you want to hunt and do as much research about that specific thing as you can.

Have any supervisors that hunt? Pick their brain, go check out their gear, walk around every outdoor equipment supply store in Anchorage and check it all out...it's all much different that Ohio I promise you. When I got to Alaska I too had only hunted farmland whitetails and was overwhelmed. You just have to get into it man...it will happen.

Another thing that will help is to find a reliable partner that has the same interests and goals as you in the outdoors. Being new, it will benefit you greatly. It doesn't have to be someone with experience, just someone with drive and determination to learn so you can learn together.