Thread: Trip of a Lifetime

Default Trip of a Lifetime

Good day, all. I am a brand new member and am already very impressed with how helpful this web-site has been.

My father and I have been threatening to plan a fishing trip to Alaska for a good 15 years now. Unfortunately, despite our best intentions the rigors of life as we know it has prevented these plans from ever taking shape. The good news is that we are both at a point in life that should allow us to make good on that which we have only talked about before.

That being said, and two weeks into my research, I'm finding it to be a daunting task to find a location/facility that will provide us the "trip of a lifetime" that we are striving for.

Here is a quick list of criteria that will hopefully help anyone interested in helping us refine our search understand what our priorities are:

-Neither of us have ever fished in Alaska and would prefer a guided trip.
    -We have NO interest in standing shoulder to shoulder fishing with others.
    -Catching fish is important, but we are in it for the total experience.
    -A lodge is needed as we would prefer not to camp and like the idea of being fed well and having a nice warm bed.
    -We prefer freshwater fishing, ideally either wading or floating.
    -We are novices with a fly rod but would like to fish with both fly and light tackle.

Any specific guides or lodges that any of you think might fit the bill would be great. Also, thoughts on general areas and/or river systems that we should target would be much appreciated, too.

Good fishing, everyone.

Doug

Default fly in

given your selectivity - you will need to do a fly in trip to a lodge. You won't get too far away from people on the roadway.

You may look up tik chik lodge they do great with all the things you are looking for

Quote Originally Posted by Bullelkklr View Post
    given your selectivity - you will need to do a fly in trip to a lodge. You won't get too far away from people on the roadway.