Thread: round ball moulds

Default round ball moulds

I am new to casting, just bought a complete kit. It was used but everything seems to work. I want to cast for my knight 50 cal. i would like to do conicials and rb. I got all kinds of lead with this stuff but cant tell what is pure lead?? I did get a saeco hardness tester but even after searching the web cant figure out how it works? are plain w/w ok for muzzle loading?? I cast some of the ingots for my 45/70 and the bullets seemed pretty hard so maybe they have somthing else in them. There is also an envelope that says silver leaf on it, the stuff looks like tinfoil, what is this used for? Sorry if i sound totaly confused but i am! oh yea do i have to size rb?? or conicials?

Quote Originally Posted by yukon254 View Post
    I am new to casting, just bought a complete kit. It was used but everything seems to work. I want to cast for my knight 50 cal. i would like to do conicials and rb. I got all kinds of lead with this stuff but cant tell what is pure lead?? I did get a saeco hardness tester but even after searching the web cant figure out how it works? are plain w/w ok for muzzle loading?? I cast some of the ingots for my 45/70 and the bullets seemed pretty hard so maybe they have somthing else in them. There is also an envelope that says silver leaf on it, the stuff looks like tinfoil, what is this used for? Sorry if i sound totaly confused but i am! oh yea do i have to size rb?? or conicials?
    You'll probably do okay with the RBs from wheelweights, though they will likely be slightly different diameter than pure lead. Being harder they'll penetrate game better, but without expansion and as large a wound channel. Your patch is going to be sealing the bore, so harder isn't that big of a deal.