Thread: Request information on spring Grizzly from snow machine.

Default Request information on spring Grizzly from snow machine.

I am looking for information on hunting Grizzly on snow machine this spring. I am new to this snow-machine hunting but have been told that this is a good way to get back up to the head of some valleys and glass for open dens. If you have any input or recommendations let me thank you in advance. I live in Wasilla and would like to stay within 100 to 200 miles from here. Thanks in advance. Rick

I hunt Spring Bears with a snowgo on the very first days in April that has warm enough weather out to make it drip, and form puddles. Thats a good indication that Bears are out.
    They go up to hill tops and ridges to look for food to scavage, and also set themselfs along Caribou paths through the Brush, so they can ambush them. I also sit apon high and watch Caribou herds, and see if somethings moving them.

Bears on the snow look like shiney dark "Balls" moveing along, leaving a trail. Not hard to find a den, they will return to it. Just gas up when you have hit tracks, and go find 'em.

Good luck!

Smile nelchina basin

Considering the previous posters tips who obviously has some experience and knowledge in locating brown bears, you might try the areas South of the Denali Highway in the Northern Talkeetnas where the caribou are heading that time of year. The easiest way would be head South on the Susitna River past the Oshentna. Predator control in this area helps both the moose and caribou….
    “I come home with an honestly earned feeling that something good has taken place. It makes no difference whether I got anything, it has to do with how the day was spent. “ Fred Bear

The Willow side of Hatcher pass has some good areas for this type of hunting as does the Eureka area. Good luck.