Thread: 7 x 57 load data

Default 7 x 57 load data

I've been reloading for many years with great success. Now, along comes a new source of confusion. I'm just preparing to load for 7 x 57 model 95 Chilean Mauser. My number 8 Speer manual suggests a starting load of 50.0 gr of 4831 and a max load of 54 gr under 145 gr bullet. On their web sight Hogdon suggests starting load of 47.0 gr and a max load of49.5 gr of H4831 under 140 gr bullet. I have other manuals that are all different. What's a mother to do? Now I'm not looking to create a super duper whiz bang, just a cheap, handy little truck rifle for vermin and maybe a deer in the laurel thickets. Would one of you set me strait on a safe starting load? Thanks in advance for any and all offerings.

Default Loads

Quote Originally Posted by patcharooskie View Post
    I've been reloading for many years with great success. Now, along comes a new source of confusion. I'm just preparing to load for 7 x 57 model 95 Chilean Mauser. My number 8 Speer manual suggests a starting load of 50.0 gr of 4831 and a max load of 54 gr under 145 gr bullet. On their web sight Hogdon suggests starting load of 47.0 gr and a max load of49.5 gr of H4831 under 140 gr bullet. I have other manuals that are all different. What's a mother to do? Now I'm not looking to create a super duper whiz bang, just a cheap, handy little truck rifle for vermin and maybe a deer in the laurel thickets. Would one of you set me strait on a safe starting load? Thanks in advance for any and all offerings.
    There are 2 kinds of 4831,(H-4831 & IMR-4831) are you sure you are compareing apples to apples. The load from the Hogdons manual suggests 49.5 grains is a compressed load. Therefore it would be very difficult to get 5 additional grains in the case as in the Speer manual. With the new SC powders the case might hold more thoug