Thread: Bank fishing for kings mid -late july

Default Bank fishing for kings mid -late july

Hi .Thanks to Everyone who helped us on our Kenai adventure 2007 .tips and advice were spot on and everyone we met were so welcoming.
    We are coming back this year last 2 weeks in July and fancy giving the Kenai kings a go from the bank .I'm thinking of taking my 13 ft saltwater surf caster and multiplier reel to handle long casts big ,baits /lures...casts 4/8.oz.
    What are everyone's thoughts on this setup Any good spots ,tips rigs, Ive also wondered if It is possible to catch kings from the shore/or even buts or anything.
    Thanks in advance. graham

Default Kenai Kings from Shore

I have not fished for kings from shore, but I have seen folks who have. (Maybe that like saying, "I'm not a doctor but I play one on TV?). Most that I have seen fishing on the banks are drifting eggs. You will likely need a long cast to get to some of the good holes, but expect those holes to be plugged with an abundance of boats.

That being said, there is an area that is closed to fishing for kings from a boat, specifically to allow bank fishing... this is in Sterling at Morgan's Landing (Check regulations).

Do some searching on this forum, there have been discussions of using planer boards from the bank and others.

It is possible to catch halibut from shore, but difficult. Again, search this forum for more.

Cheers

Between the Willapa Rivers, United States

Default YES Kings are do-able from shore