Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 44 mag with buffalo bore rounds

Default 44 mag with buffalo bore rounds

Hi, I am new to alaska and was considering buying a 629 S&W trail boss in 44 mag... it has a 3 inch ported bbl ... I am looking for opinions as to whether or not that it would be suitable for stopping a charging grizzly using buffalo bore 305 grain hardcast rounds. Or would bear spray be a better deterrent. As i understand it most charges are engaged at a distance of about 10 yds or so... Any advice would be appreciated

Do a search here with the words "44 mag bear". You'll find that there have been hundreds of opinions already shared, many pro and many con.

I know the canadians did a study that says bear spray works better but im not going to trust my life on a condiment. Pistol is better than a stick, large caliber rifle is better than a handgun.

Quote Originally Posted by AK-49 View Post
    Hi, I am new to alaska and was considering buying a 629 S&W trail boss in 44 mag... it has a 3 inch ported bbl ... I am looking for opinions as to whether or not that it would be suitable for stopping a charging grizzly using buffalo bore 305 grain hardcast rounds. Or would bear spray be a better deterrent. As i understand it most charges are engaged at a distance of about 10 yds or so... Any advice would be appreciated

Ten yards or so!?!

Well in that case I have to ask are you capable of placing one shot from this little gun into a bouncing 2 1/2" diameter ball moving at 44 feet per second. (bear velocity) You'll have .68 seconds.