Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: canoeing pictures

Default canoeing pictures

post your pictures of your canoe adventures here
    When you come to a fork in the trail, take it!

Rentals for Canoes, Kayaks, Rafts, boats serving the Kenai canoe trail system and the Kenai river for over 15 years. www.alaskacanoetrips.com

Default Two on a little car

Rentals for Canoes, Kayaks, Rafts, boats serving the Kenai canoe trail system and the Kenai river for over 15 years. www.alaskacanoetrips.com

Default 2008 Canoeing pictures

My 3 year old fishing:

and camping on an island:

All that fun is hard work. Nap time:

Default canoe questions

Awesome pictures. You're living my dream. What size canoe is this? I'm new to canoe vocab, forgive the ignorance, but is the flat stern considered a "freighter?"

Default freighter

I bet someone else here can quote the exact definition of what is or isn't a "freighter canoe", but my belief is because this style of canoe can haul a large load; mine is rated for close to 1600# (more than my truck).
    My Scott Albany is described here. A fine boat.

Quote Originally Posted by a99collectible View Post
    Awesome pictures. You're living my dream. What size canoe is this? I'm new to canoe vocab, forgive the ignorance, but is the flat stern considered a "freighter?"

The term "freighter" seems to differ with region but this forum seems to consider any flat-ended canoe as a freighter......not so in most places East of Alaska.

Many companies have made their 15'-18' double ended canoes available with a square stern for those wishing to use outboard power. Usually they were simply referred to as "square stern". This was a simple modification of canoes designed for paddling.

I find that I prefer a motor side mount over a square stern on a paddling canoe. This would be for the minimal HP outboards of 4HP and less.

I believe it was Alumacraft that made an 18" aluminum canoe with a wine-glass stern also.